Interview with author Georgia Bell

interview

I do a lot of book tours and book reviews. I was lucky enough to get to read and review Unbound by Georgia Bell. It was like nothing I have ever read before. The characters would not leave my thoughts so I decided to write the author to ask for an interview. When she wrote me back “Yes” I was thrilled! Here is a little bit more about Georgia Bell: Georgia Bell was raised on a steady diet of science fiction and fantasy, courtesy of her father, a man who loved his family, fishing, scotch, and science (although not necessarily in that order). Georgia is an avid reader of young adult fiction, and a lover of good wine, music, children, and cats (although not necessarily in that order). Here is my interview with Georgia Bell…

 

1. You said in you biography that you grew up with a love for books. Is that what made you want to be a writer?

Absolutely. I’ve always loved reading because it takes me out of my life completely and allows me to escape into someone else’s. At first, I was surprised that writing was like that for me, too. While I was writing Unbound I felt like I was living in the world that Rachel and Eaden live in. It was so much fun that I started the sequel not long after I finished writing Unbound. I just wanted to hang out with them some more and find out what happened next.

2. What inspires you to write?

I’m a romantic and nothing inspires me more than love. Not just romantic love, although I’m a big fan of romance, but I’m fascinated by relationships and the bonds that form between human beings. Writing allows me to work out how I feel about all the different ways that people can love (and hate) each other.

3. Tell me in a tweet about “Unbound”.

What if the person you’ve trusted with your life turns out to be the biggest threat to your existence?

4. Tell me how the idea formed in your head about Unbound because it is really out there in a good way  and I never read anything like it before.

I grew up reading science fiction and fantasy and have always been drawn to paranormal and magical worlds in fiction. Unbound contains elements of all the classic stories I loved when I was child. When I started Unbound I was trying to figure out what would happen if someone who had all but given up on life fell in love with someone who had barely lived and the immortal storyline felt like a good way to contrast hope and despair.

5. Rachel is a strong female lead character. Tell me about her and would you write future books with strong female characters?

I’m so glad you think Rachel is a strong character as that’s how I’ve always thought of her, too.  I’ve been worried that her anxiety at the beginning of the story might mask her strength and tenacity. And yes, it’s important for me to write about women who are willing to take control of their own lives. I’ve always been drawn to strong female characters in fiction and I love the idea that Rachel might be a member of that club.

6. I do not want to give away spoilers, can you tell me about Eaden without doing that?  (I am not sure here if revealing he is an immortal, which is not too far in but far enough in that it may be a spoiler I may want to ask another question if we are revealing that.)

I think it’s okay to reveal the fact that Eaden is an immortal without giving away too much about the rest of the story. Eaden is your classic tortured, taciturn hero. I fell in love with Aragorn from the Lord of the Rings as a young girl and ever since have been drawn to noble men who have had to put duty before their own desires. Eaden has lived a long and difficult life as an immortal that has left him scarred in ways that aren’t immediately obvious. There’s a lot more to him than I got a chance to explore in Unbound. Stay tuned!

7. I loved the ending although it is a series I think it could stand alone. Did you intend this to be a series when you started?

Unbound started as a stand alone and if I’d been able to stop writing, I would have left it there. But I just couldn’t stop thinking about these characters and what might happen next and so, I kept going without any real intention of making a sequel. After I published Unbound, I decided I might as well continue the story, both as a writing exercise and because readers have told me they want to know what happens next. My next writing project after “Unknown” (the next book in the series) is a YA speculative fiction that will most definitely be a stand alone.

8. Why the name Unbound?

I liked the play on words that Unbound brought to mind when I was trying out different names. Without giving away too much of the plot, I liked the idea of things that have long been together, coming apart, as well as people who have been wound tightly, coming undone.

9. Your happiest moment as a writer so far has been what?

Oh jeeez. Only one? There are so many. Seeing my cover for the first time felt incredible. I had the pleasure of working with a very talented graphic designer named Andy Patrick. When I found out he was Scottish, it felt like serendipity as so much of Unbound is tied to Scotland. After we talked about some of my ideas he sent me three beautiful covers. It was an embarrassment of riches, really, as they were all great. But I’m besotted with the one I’ve chosen. It really has become such a big part of Unbound and the way I envisioned the story.

10. Your favorite place to write for example at an old desk, on your patio, etc?

It may sound a bit nuts, but I love writing in public. A few years ago, I had a really long commute to work by train and I started writing every day. I no longer commute to work so now have to head out to coffee shops or restaurants if I really want to get a lot done. Everyone in my local Starbucks knows me by name. I can write at home, but I get too distracted by my everyday life that I get much less done than I would when I’m out in the world. I also do my best thinking about plot lines while I drive.

11. Do you carry a notebook with you to keep ideas about your books or can you remember them on your own?

Yes! I still write my first drafts by hand using pen and paper and I almost never go anywhere without one of my writing books. I often think of ideas when I’m driving and have been known to pull over to the side of the road to write something down before I forget.

12. Must have food/beverage while writing.

Two things. Coffee and wine. But not together. I drink a lot of coffee during the day and have been known to work most productively at home at night when I’m sipping some wine. Or scotch.

13. What are you working on now?

I’m currently finishing Unknown, the second book in the All Good Things Trilogy. I hope to have a fall publishing date.

14. Is there anything you want to add?

Thank you so much for asking me questions about Unbound. I’m really so grateful to have readers who want to know more about the characters I’ve come to love so much.

 

Wow! That was some interview. I wish I could put all my comments in. The interview made me laugh, and think a lot, and I had my questions answered that I had been waiting for. I want to thank Georgia for being here on my blog and I want her to know she is welcome anytime. It was a pleasure to work with her.

 

If you would like to purchase Unbound then here are some links for you:

Amazon:  Click here

Barnes & Noble: Click here

Smashwords: Click here

Kobo: Click here

authorlinks

 

Website 

Twitter

Goodreads Author Page

1Author Pic (1)  (1)

Make sure you read this incredible book!

1-unbound

Leave a Reply

